Sebastian\’s Coding Blog

Sofud 1.0alpha1 Release preparations

Posted by randomz on April 25, 2007

I’ve decided to put together a first Alpha version of Sofud 1.0. The basic parts are all in place, so it should be usable without problems. Still missing are a couple of medium-level features listed below, and a lot of documentation. This is also the reason why I’m not planning to announce this release anywhere except the Sofu web site: It would be pretty hard for anyone new to get to know the library.

Missing features, pasted from the todo.txt:

  • FEATURE: Implement SofuString class to reduce Unicode conversions
  • FEATURE: Implement transparent GZIP compression

Neither of those should do much to the existing interface, though.
Before releasing 1.0alpha, though, I want to do two things:

  • Drastically improve the quality of the error messages. Sofud 0.2’s error messages were quite good if you were only dealing with Sofud objects created from files, but I stripped most of them out, so I have to redo them. And I want to come up with a better way to show error messages that refer to objects created in memory.
  • Get at least a little bit of documentation done.

The biggest reason for me to release this version possibly prematurely is so that I at least have an official version to use myself. The interface should not change much from now on, so I guess it’s OK to release soon.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
