Sebastian\’s Coding Blog

Sofud now works with Tango

Posted by randomz on July 11, 2007

I just commited the changes to Sofud that make it work with Tango instead of Phobos. As expected, it wasn’t really difficult, just annoying. Writing I/O code is pretty error prone if you’re working on the level of Tango conduits and trying to support all Unicode encodings. Debugging was the really tough part of it; most of the conversion was done with a couple of find & replaces.

I shall release this version as 1.0.alpha.2 as soon as I feel like it. Right now, I’m too exhausted from bug fixing. :o)

By the way, I finally found a nice text editor that can correctly handle any Unicode encoding. It’s a small freeware called BabelPad. To my puzzlement, most editors out there can only handle UTF-8 and UTF-16, even though UTF-32 has been around for a long time now.

3 Responses to “Sofud now works with Tango”

  1. maluku said

    Dude, do implement my new feature for Sofu please…..

    P.S.: VIM can handle ANY encoding you throw at it.

  2. valeriupalos said

    Please! When do you think you will release the Tango version of Sofud?

  3. randomz said

    Within the next two weeks.

    I’m on semester break right now. That doesn’t mean I don’t have other things to do, but I also want to finally get a good release out the door.

    Documentation might not get as far as I’d like, though.

Leave a Reply

 
